I can win a rainbow

Sing a rainbow too

Listen with your eyes
Listen with your ears
And sing everything you see…

Photo by Ludovic Bertron, edited by Kevin Wong, via Flickr Creative Commons
Photo by Ludovic Bertron, edited by Kevin Wong, via Flickr Creative Commons

At last the Dodo said, ‘everybody has won, and all must have prizes.’

14 Leader

The good news: I’ve won a prestigious national award!

One.  happy.  green.  bunny!

SLA-Winner

I won “Sustainability Leader (person category) 2014” – last week – and that makes me very happy.

At the same time, I know there are thousands of equally deserving sustainability leaders; including YOU, reading this perhaps, whose moment of recognition maybe hasn’t come yet?  Stay strong – follow your heart – it will come.  7 billion leaders are so badly needed right now.

This particular award was made by a diverse panel of eleven accomplished judges whom I respect

Last time I scooped a big award was back in 2005, the year I embarked on my own as ‘the carbon coach’. This latest award, I think, is for pretty much everything that I’ve been able to contribute since then these last 9 years. You can see the award citation here.  (Thanks dear friend Sue at My Green Directory.)

It comes at a good time for me, as I prepare to put 2014 behind me, and take on challenges new. in 2015.  And to stretch myself.  As indeed we all can. On our one and Only Planet. If we intend to stay.

Unlike the Dodo.

Natural Leaders Now:

A quick mention of the fabulous event I attended last weekend with many amazing leaders and teachers of our age.

It seems fitting to end this blog post by quoting from them.

“The root word of ‘leadership’ is ‘leith’ which means to cross the threshold, to let go of old ways, mind-sets and logic in order to embrace the new. Leadership is, first and foremost, an attitude to life.”

“These transformational times are demanding each and every one of us to become leaders in myriad ways: mothers and midwives, counselors and CEOs, activists and administrators – the times we live ask us to ‘know thy self’ so as to reach beyond self-interest for the benefit of something greater.” – Giles Hutchins

This Gandhi quote does it for me too:

“The difference between what we do, and what we are capable of doing, would suffice to solve most of the world’s problems.”

Lead on, dear friends all, from within, lead on.  
We are the leaders we have been waiting for.